PRESS RELEASE: NOW AVAILABLE: Gemma Peacocke's "Waves & Lines"

Artwork:  Dancing Woman  by   Kubra Khademi   Design by Gemma Peacocke

Artwork: Dancing Woman by Kubra Khademi
Design by Gemma Peacocke


Gemma Peacocke's
Waves & Lines

available exclusively through
New Amsterdam’s Bandcamp Subscription
as part of new 
Windmill Series

Waves & Lines is the new album from New Zealand-born, Princeton-based composer Gemma Peacocke, out November 30 on New Amsterdam Records. The record is available exclusively through New Amsterdam’s Bandcamp subscription as part of the Windmill Series, a new digitally-focused set of releases for subscribers in addition to our existing release schedule. Subscribe today to receive the album, which will be released on all other platforms February 15, 2019.

Waves & Lines is a 50-minute multimedia song cycle for soprano, electronics and chamber ensemble. The album is based on a collection of Afghan women’s folk poems called landays. These poems are passed down secretly as a sung oral tradition and were collected and translated by Eliza Griswold in the book I Am the Beggar of the World: Landays from contemporary Afghanistan.

Exploring the distance, anonymity and strange intimacy of phone calls, text messages, and radio broadcasts in which the poems are shared, the song cycle features the use of fixed electronics and projections.

Waves & Lines premiered in June 2017 at Roulette Intermedium with the support of the Jerome L Green Foundation and received its Australian premiere at the Melbourne Recital Centre in April 2018.

Gemma Peacocke   Photo: Susanna Hancock

Gemma Peacocke
Photo: Susanna Hancock

Composed by Gemma Peacocke
Adapted from I Am the Beggar of the World: Landays from Contemporary Afghanistan by Eliza Griswold

Eliza Bagg, Voice
Borah Han, Piano
Adam Holmes, Percussion
Pat Swoboda, Bass

Engineered, mixed and mastered by Mike Tierney

Track order:

1. Bees (04:33)
2. Love (05:31)
3. Father (04:14)
4. Ice Cream (06:03)
5. War (06:36)
6. I Am The Beggar of the World (06:03)
7. Separation (07:28)
8. London (06:05)