John Mayrose

JOHN MAYROSE is a composer as well as an active performer, having performed and premiered new works for classical guitar, electric guitar, electric bass, mandolin, banjo and MIDI guitar, as well as more traditional performances on classical guitar, and more recently, the tenor viola da gamba. He holds a Ph.D. in composition at Duke University and a B.M. degree from the University of South Carolina Honors College. His teachers have included Stephen Jaffe, Scott Lindroth, Sidney Hodkinson, Anthony Kelley, Christopher Berg, and Michael Cedric Smith. John has participated in the Aspen Music Festival, Oregon Bach Festival, and the Bowdoin Summer Music Festival.

John's music has been played throughout North America, Europe, and Australia, by among others, Duo 46, the Bang on a Can All-Stars, Fireworks, pulsoptional, Jillon Stoppels Dupree, Duo d'amore, the University of North Carolina Wind Symphony, and percussion ensembles at Truman State University, the University of Texas, Central Michigan University, and Lawrence University. Recent commissions are from the Southeastern Music Library Association, and Geoffrey Burgess for performance on the Australian Broadcast Company. His work Vivaldiana is available on Duo d'amore's CD Incantations and Inspirations. He is the recipient of the first place prize in the Percussive Arts Society Composition Contest (2009), the 2010 ASCAP Plus Award, the Aliénor Harpsichord Composition Prize (2008), the William Klenz Prize in Composition (2001), the ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer's Award (2004) for "What Hath God Wrought": Reflections on a Theme by Samuel F. B. Morse, the Bass Named Instructorship (Duke 2005/2006), and the Mary Duke Biddle Fellowship. Along with his research into music, meaning and semiotics in the music of Alfred Schnittke, he has taught courses on music theory, music and technology, and electronic music at Duke. John is a member of the new music ensemble pulsoptional, a composer's collective based in Durham, North Carolina.

John is an Assistant Professor of Music at the Raclin School of the Arts at Indiana University South Bend and has also served as the Postdoctoral Fellow in Music Composition at the Lawrence University Conservatory of Music where he was also the director of the Improvisation Group of Lawrence University.