...which enables us to fly yMusic



release date: April 26, 2019

release date: April 26, 2019

...which enables us to fly is a two track digital release from yMusic consisting of a 20-minute work by Marcos Balter and a 30-minute long film about the creation of the work.

In 2015, the chamber ensemble yMusic conceived of a collaborative dance project with New York Live Arts, choreographer Bill T. Jones' "internationally recognized destination for innovative movement-based artistry.” For this project, and in response to a prompt by Jones himself, composer Marcos Balter penned a sonic exploration of the concept of ‘home’ which was choreographed by two different artists, the august Bill T Jones and the ebullient Dianne McIntyre, both living legends.

The first track of this release is an audio recording of Marcos Balter's complete score. The second track contains the film, which details the creation and performance of the piece, including Bill T. Jones coming out of retirement to dance for the first time in public in 9 years.

The record is available exclusively through New Amsterdam’s Bandcamp subscription as part of the Windmill Series, a digitally-focused set of releases for subscribers in addition to our existing release schedule. Subscribe today to receive the album which was released on all other platforms on July 12, 2019.

Track listing:
1. We Carry Our Homes Within Us
2. Which Enables Us To Fly (watch a promo for the film here)

Track 1: We Carry Our Homes Within Us
Composed by Marcos Balter
Performed by yMusic

Track 2: Which Enables Us To Fly (documentary)
Directed by Meade Bernard
Produced by Nadia Sirota and yMusic

yMusic is:
Rob Moose, violin, voice
Nadia Sirota, viola, voice
Gabriel Cabezas, cello, voice
Hideaki Aomori, clarinet
Alex Sopp, flute, voice
CJ Camerieri, trumpet, voice

Artwork by Alex Sopp