Spiritual America
William Brittelle + Wye Oak


Spiritual America

Spiritual America is a series of electro-acoustic orchestral art songs that explores issues of secular spirituality in American culture. The project is being created in collaboration with the Alabama Symphony, Symphony Space, the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra's Liquid Music Series/Walker Art Center, the Palm Springs Art Musuem, and the Baltimore Symphony. Core collaborators include the indie rock duo Wye Oak, who contribute vocals and percussion throughout, and the Metropolis Ensemble, and NYC-based independent orchestra.

With a sprawling ensemble featuring rock duo, full orchestra, children's chorus, guest vocalists, and electronics, Spiritual America is the most involved, comprehensive work of William Brittelle's career. Album expenses will be significant, and this album is self-funded. Your support will help cover the cost of tracking, editing, mixing, and mastering the record. Funds will also go towards development of the artwork, promotional materials, and core commissioning for the project's creation. 

The Spiritual America trailer was filmed on location on the frozen surface of Canopus Lake in Fahnestock State Park in upstate New York during a snowstorm. Choreography and dance is by Katherine Helen Fisher. The trailer was filmed and directed by Stephen S. Taylor