killer BOB sings JOBS



release date: June 30, 2015

release date: June 30, 2015


  1. Patient Angel

  2. Esmerelda, the Last Queen of Fire Island

  3. Threes

  4. Spriiiiiiiiiing 

  5. Rhythm Changes

  6. Fed Well

  7. Down to the Root

  8. Fear May Be A Builder

From experimental noise collective JOBS, killer BOB sings has been called "a killer album" by GrimmusiK and "an aural experience that is at once deeply personal and wholly alien" by IMPOSE. Addition, the music video to the track "Patient Angel" was lauded as "a track and video that demand your patience" by IMPOSE and one that "takes you for a ride" by PopMatters.

Since forming in 2008, JOBS has quickly established itself as one of the most exciting new forces within the thriving experimental music scene in Brooklyn. Comprised of drummer Max Jaffe, bassist Rob Lundberg, and guitarist Dave Scanlon, the group (formerly known as  Killer Bob) has set itself apart with its charged performances - dripping with intensity and wild spontaneity.

After a number of dark and thorny releases under their previous name, JOBS set out to record their new album killer BOB sings with a new approach. Enlisting the help of vocalist Daniel Ellis-Ferris (of Loft Opera) and multi-instrumentalist/producer Shannon Fields (Leverage ModelsStars Like Fleas, and Helado Negro), the band challenged themselves to embrace a more broad and inclusive sound world.

Integrating blasts of industrial noise with mechanically incisive rhythms and pop structures, killer BOB sings showcases the band's influences by way of their virtuosity. Vocals lay over ominously precise guitar work and percussive textures that range from the unhealthily organic to the speechlessly robotic. Distorted grooves pull themselves out of these structures.

In the studio, the band worked in intensive bursts, for 12-16 hours a day. Fields pushed them to create more and more, giving each member nightly "homework" assignments, such as: "write a ballad and a pop hit." The effect of all this work was to create a more honed and focused band, and - in fact - the resulting album can be heard as JOBS' version of a tightly-constructed pop album - in a world where the fractured "Rhythm Changes" is a club banger and the haunting "Spriiiiiiiiing" a crooner ballad.

More than anything though, killer BOB sings is a supremely vital document of a band pushing itself to evolve and develop. In the words of one concertgoer, JOBS is "unstoppable," and while that may be true, killer BOB sings shows that the group can at least slow down long enough to capture that unstoppability in album form.

killer BOB sings was engineered, mixed, and mastered by D. James Goodwin at The Isokon in Woodstock, NY and produced by Shannon Fields.