Big Farm Big Farm



release date: May 28, 2013

release date: May 28, 2013

The self-titled album from NYC-based four-piece Big Farm, who have been praised as "something like a Blind Faith–style supergroup for new-music cognoscenti” (Time Out New York). Big Farm features four of today’s most revered and vital composer/performers: GRAMMY-winner and Pulitzer Prize-finalist vocalist-lyricist Rinde Eckert; in-demand electric bassist Mark Haanstra; Grammy winner and pioneering composer/guitarist Steven Mackey; and celebrated percussionist Jason Treuting (So Percussion).

After years of various collaboration, admiration and respect for each other, the members of Big Farm finally banded together in 2009, answering a call to a place where the rules normative to the hard genres of music are set aside, making it possible for the group to express the eclecticism of its accomplished members. The band explains: “Big Farm is a place where serious counterpoint can meet burlesque, earnestness meet abandon; a place where they can kick it or take it to tea, reflect, attack, mourn, dance, pray, or mock with ease or determination, joy or fervor, using any and all means necessary. This world is a big farm – lots of different crops, changing weather, livestock, and a duck pond for good measure.”

The album was recorded, produced and mixed by Lawson White and Todd Whitelock at Avatar Studios and Good Child Music Studios in New York City. The album was mastered by Scott Hull at Masterdisk. Album guests include Alexandra Sopp (flute), Mary Jo Stilp (violin), Kiku Enomoto (violin), Christina Lberis (viola), and Rubin Kodheli (cello).


  1. Like An Animal

  2. Break Time

  3. Salad Days

  4. She Steps

  5. Lost In Splendor

  6. Ghosts

  7. Margaret Ballinger

  8. My Ship

  9. John Knows